Stranger Things – A bunch of disjointed thoughts.

“Why disjointed thoughts?” I hear you say. “Why not just form your thoughts into a well written post and elevate the quality of your blog?”

And to that I say…

 

This weekend Netflix released its new original series Stranger Things. A joyful tribute to the 1980s suitable for the whole family. Well, maybe not the whole family. It’s kinda violent and would definitely creep out kiddos, mid teens and above I say.

Imma start with the trailer so as to give at least some spoiler-free content.

Those bikes immediately make me think of ET and the curly haired boy (Dustin) has a look of Chunk from The Goonies. This already cements it as a Spielberg style kid focused adventure. These kids are also rocking Dungeons and Dragons like total bosses, which pleases me no end.

Then we get what seems to be government conspiracy, hazmat suits, weird gross webbing, a shaved head kid with a nosebleed in a tank that looks straight out of Altered States.

That Stephen King font is HEAVENLY. That synth electro.

 

SPOILERSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

 

-The Thing is clearly an influence. First in a poster in the background, then in an actual clip and finally in our Inter-Dimensional Being which looks remarkably similar to the dog-monster.

There’s also an Evil Dead poster but I couldn’t really shoehorn a parallel in the show.

-MK-Ultra is brought in and I think MK-Ultra is another post for another time but DANG THAT GOT ME HYPED!

-I wrote “Giant electric ouija board that Edison would be proud of” in the margin of my colouring book.

-I also wrote “Body horror – Alien – people in walls”

-I loved how the other world/dimension was so wet, rotten and covered in goo. With Silent Hill style falling snow/ash/mould spores.

-There was a certain HP Lovecraft-ness to it. Though that could be Lovecraft influencing Stephen King influencing Stranger Things.

-My husband’s theory is that it will become an anthology series, in a similar vein to American Horror Story/True Detective and will have nothing to do with these characters. I personally hope it stays in the 80s and goes into some Satanic Panic shit.

-Fun fact pointed out to me by my buddy Graeme. The show was initially going to be set in Montauk, New York and titled Montauk. Presumably that is a reference to the Montauk Project

The Montauk Project is an alleged series of secret United States government projects conducted at Camp Hero or Montauk Air Force Station on Montauk, Long Island for the purpose of developing psychological warfare techniques and exotic research including time travel.”

That’s all I can think of for now.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

